The Republic of Namibia.
President of Namibia Hifikepunye Lucas PohambaHifikepunye Lukas Pohamba (born August 18, 1935) is the second and current President of Namibia. He succeeded long-time president Sam Nujoma who was elected president in Namibia’s first democratic elections of 1990.

The Namibian head of state is the president, who is elected by popular vote every five years. The government is headed by the Prime Minister, who is appointed by the president, together with his cabinet. SWAPO, the primary force behind independence, has since moved away from its Marxist roots and is currently the country’s largest party.

Namibia’s bicameral parliament consists of the National Council, which holds 26 seats occupied by two members chosen from each Regional Council to serve six-year terms, and the National Assembly of 78 seats, of which 72 members are elected by popular vote and 6 non-voting members are appointed by the president. All serve five-year terms.

The National Assembly is the primary legislative body, with the National Council playing more of a reviewing role. The 1990 constitution is noted for being one of the first to incorporate protection of the environment into its text. The highest judicial body is the Supreme Court, whose judges are appointed by the president on the recommendation of the Judicial Service Commission.

The Constituent Assembly of Namibia produced a constitution which established a multi-party system and a bill of rights. It also limited the executive president to two 5-year terms and provided for the private ownership of property. The three branches (Legislature, Executive and the Judicial) of government are subject to checks and balances, and a provision is made for judicial review. The constitution also states that Namibia should have a mixed economy, and foreign investment should be encouraged.

The Decentralisation Act of 2000 provided the framework under which Central Government would decentralise some services such as the provision of water, electricity, sanitation, health and housing. The Act also aims at bringing Government closer to grassroots communities, to ensure their input into development initiatives and decision-making processes that affect them directly.

Quick Facts
Government type: Republic
Capital: Windhoek
Regional Councils : 13 – Caprivi, Erongo, Hardap, Karas, Khomas, Kunene, Ohangwena, Kavango, Omaheke, Omusati, Oshana, Oshikoto, Otjozondjupa
Independence: March 21, 1990 (from South African mandate)
National holidayS:
Independence Day, March 21 (1990)
Workers Day, May 01
Cassinga Day, May 04
Africa Day, May 25
Heros Day, August 26
Humans Rights Day, December 10
Constitution: Ratified February 09, 1990; effective March 21, 1990.
Legal system: based on Roman-Dutch law and 1990 Constitution
Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal
Head of State: His Excellency President Hifikepunye Lukas Pohamba
(Since 21 March 2005)
Head of Government: Prime Minister Nahas Angula (since 21 March 2005)
Cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the president from among the members of the National Assembly
Elections: President elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held 15 November 2004 (next to be held November 2009)
Justice System: Supreme Court, High Courts, Lower Courts and Magistrate Courts.
(judges appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Judicial Service Commission)

Southern Namibia Region